Skip to content

A Planned Economy for the 1%

February 27, 2012

Full Disclosure: Prior to becoming a teacher, and before I had that little gleam in my eye to help students in special education I was involved in the financial services industry…yes, I sold stocks, bonds, annuities, life insurance, long term care insurance, etc…

I feel that the experiences I had during that time in my life have served me extraordinarily well.  I learned:

a. How to read people properly.

b. How to invest properly without some “shark in a suit” financial planner, yes…they are sharks in suits, I met many of them in my years in the industry.

c. To understand that money drives everything in the world, and how it is intrinsic in the motivations and machinations of all of our politics.

There are many more bits of information that I gleaned while in that world, but the one thing that I learned above all others was that I did not want to remain in that world.

One vestige from my prior life is that I am an absolute political and financial junkie, there…I admit it.  I spend entirely too much time reading political and financial blogs, one reason is because I am interested in what is happening in these worlds, another reason is because I am convinced that I can use the information get from these worlds to triangulate a good investment strategy to help me towards a decent retirement.

Anyhow, enough about me.  This video poses an interesting theory about the concentration of wealth and what that has meant over the past 20 or so years.  I find this interesting, you probably won’t, but I would argue that you should.

 

From → Archives

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

